//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

My 2nd half Après mon apprentissage

Directions

Much like Robert deNiro’s character in The Intern (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Intern (2015_film), I’ve been searching for ways to use my retirement in a productive, contributory way. I’ve wandered into various things. I’m not sure how much knitting my family can put up with and here in Australia where we’re currently living, there isn’t much need for socks, mitts, and toques for the homeless. Mahjong, sorry ladies, doesn’t cut it for me. And so as I perused Facebook this morning, I happened on Naheed Nenshi’s address to the LaFontaine-Baldwin Symposium. (Thank goodness for intelligent, lucid friends).

In Nenshi’s address The Canada We Hope For (http://calgarymayor.ca/stories/the-canada-we-hope-for-mayor-nenshis-speech), he relates the task he set for Calgarians: “. . . do at least three things for their community. Three things, big or small.” So this blog is one thing I will do for my community of educators. I will write about what I have had the luxury of reading, combine it with what I had the luxury of learning during my long apprenticeship teaching, and see what comes along.

My second focus will be promoting active living. Movement is essential to our lives and those who continue to move as we did as children, stay young and live well. The more I become involved in living actively, the more I realize that many of the traditional old age ailments are symptoms of inactivity. I will share what I learn in this blog and lead by example, staying active in the Olympic style fencing community and other activities as the opportunities arise.

A new and growing interest will be my third contribution. The Syrian refugee crisis and the experience of being a corporate wife has led me to reflect on the role our geo-politic has led women to accept. While my ideas here are still forming, it is an area I want to pursue. There are several aspects of this reality I want to explore. There are obvious ways to improve the plight of women refugees and I can help there in concrete ways. Other areas of this reality will take more thought before I can act responsibly and acting with an awareness of the consequences is important to me.

My community is widespread and eclectic. As Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has stated, we are a country united by our values. I hope to celebrate our values by making contributions to our national conversation.

Mon orientation

 Tout comme le personnage de Robert DeNiro dans The Intern (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Intern), j’ai cherché des façons d’utiliser ma retraite d’une manière contributive, productive. J’ai percorré dans diverses choses. Je ne sais pas combien de tricots ma famille peut mettre en place et ici en Australie où nous vivons presentement, il n’y a pas trop de besoin des chaussettes, des mitaines, des tuques et pour les sans-abri. Mahjong, désolé mesdames, ne m’interesse trop. Et comme j’ai vu au Facebook ce matin, je me trouvais sur l’adresse de Naheed Nenshi au Symposium LaFontaine-Baldwin. (Dieu merci pour les amis intelligents, et lucides).

Dans l’adresse de Nenshi Le Canada dont nous espérons (file://localhost/(http/::calgarymayor.ca:stories:the-canada-we-hope-for-mayor-nenshis-speech), il concerne la tâche qu’il a défini pour les Calgariens: “. . . faire au moins trois choses pour leur communauté. Trois choses, grandes ou petites. “Alors ce blog est une chose que je vais faire pour ma communauté d’éducateurs. Je vais écrire sur ce que j’ai eu le luxe de lire, le combiner avec ce que j’ai appris au cours de ma longue apprentissage d’enseignement, et voir ce qui arrive.

Mon deuxième objectif sera la promotion de la vie active. Le mouvement est essentiel à notre vie et ceux qui continuent de se déplacer comme nous l’avons fait comme des enfants, rester jeune et bien vivre. Plus je deviens impliqué dans la vie active, plus je me rends compte que beaucoup de vieux maux traditionnels d’âge sont les symptômes d’inactivité. Je vais partager ce que j’apprends dans ce blog et mener mes amis par exemple, rester actif dans la communauté d’escrime de style olympique et d’autres activités que les occasions se présentent.

Un intérêt nouveau qui redouble sera ma troisième contribution. La crise des réfugiés syriens et l’expérience d’être une femme d’entreprise m’a amené à réfléchir sur le rôle que notre géopolitique a conduit les femmes à accepter. Alors que mes idées ici sont encore en formation, il est un domaine que je veux poursuivre. Il y a plusieurs aspects de cette réalité, je veux explorer. Il existe des moyens évidents pour améliorer la situation des femmes réfugiées et je peux aider là-bas de façon concrète. D’autres domaines de cette réalité prendront plus de réflexion avant que je puisse agir de façon responsable et d’agir avec une prise de conscience des conséquences est important pour moi.

Ma communauté est très répandue et éclectique. En tant que Premier ministre Justin Trudeau a déclaré, nous sommes un pays unis par nos valeurs. J’espère de célébrer nos valeurs en apportant des contributions à notre conversation nationale.

 

About marymcnabb

Wandering in exploration. Mom, Grandma, teacher, competitive fencer and fascinated by the possibilities social networking offers teachers to collaborate and form professional learning communities.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

